flipp3r
Joined 11 years ago
Joined 11 years ago
I wonder what their look on say, IntelliJ, is.
Privacy is important to us. We want to do it right. (...) At no time is your DNA data shared - or sold - to any external party, period. (...) If a genome is uploaded, but the user does not continue and generate a report, the uploaded genome is automatically deleted immediately. As soon as a report has been generated (no more than 10 minutes) the uploaded genome is deleted.
Wow! A company that isn't out to steal your data! Great!
When using Meports you are uploading your genome to our central website for analysis. (...) By uploading your genome you grant us a temporary, limited, revocable, royalty-free, world-wide license to process and use your genome for the purpose of providing you with the service.
"Vision: We believe in using data and software in order to maximize everybody's quality of life. "
(Actually - you even have a different company "vision" on gene.meports.com. Which one is it?)
So what does this mean then? Are you using the word "analysis" to trick people into thinking you don't store data derived from the genome on your servers, but you're not storing the literal file someone is uploading? While, at the same time, reassuring clients you'll never store or sell their data?
Which could be faked, as seen in the referenced tweet: https://twitter.com/GabrielLandau/status/1055300918101598208 Yes, they show the word "Ad", alongside the domain name "google.com" - except the user doesn't end up on "google.com".
Edit: If you go to the homepage without previous cookies, it works. However if you try to log in you'll see errors only.
On first sight, this looks quite silly..
However in Google's case their top bounty is $3133.70
It does save some state even when you erase all your history. You can log into GMail, then go to your history and click to erase all history, after which the history settings page will scroll down (to hide the fact you're still logged into this sync thing?), and then when you go to GMail you're logged in again, effectively making Google bypass you clearing your cookies.