TL;DR: In the DigitalOcean web panel you can check the "scrub data" checkbox when destroying a VM. When using the API this option is not ticked. This can lead to other customers being able to retrieve your data.
The author thinks that this is a security issue because this option should be enabled by default. However, (I assume) it's not in Digital Oceans interest to do full disk scrub because it reduces the lifespan of their SSD.
If a user forgets to log out of Facebook on a public computer, is it Facebook's responsibility? Similarly, if a user does not correctly delete data on a budget host, is it the hosts fault?
The author thinks that this is a security issue because this option should be enabled by default. However, (I assume) it's not in Digital Oceans interest to do full disk scrub because it reduces the lifespan of their SSD.
If a user forgets to log out of Facebook on a public computer, is it Facebook's responsibility? Similarly, if a user does not correctly delete data on a budget host, is it the hosts fault?