My understanding of DELETE mode is that the transaction is not committed until the rollback journal file is deleted - if the rollback journal is present when sqlite opens a database, it applies the rollback journal to undo the changes that the transaction made. See https://www.sqlite.org/atomiccommit.html#1_deleting_the_roll...
If the directory containing the rollback journal is not fsynced after the journal file is deleted, then the journal file might rematerialize after a power failure, causing sqlite to roll back a committed transaction. And fsyncing the directory doesn't seem to happen unless you set synchronous to EXTRA, per the docs cited in the blog post.
If the directory containing the rollback journal is not fsynced after the journal file is deleted, then the journal file might rematerialize after a power failure, causing sqlite to roll back a committed transaction. And fsyncing the directory doesn't seem to happen unless you set synchronous to EXTRA, per the docs cited in the blog post.