This reminds me of the default behavior of NixOS. Whenever you make a change in the configuration for NixOS and rebuild it, it takes a snapshot of the system configurations and lets you restore after a reboot if you screw something up.
Similarly, it doesn't do anything in regards to user files.
Similarly, it doesn't do anything in regards to user files.