I remember a number of years ago getting a cheap 1-year Lightroom susbscription as part of a promo.
Got it installed, loaded up a few photos. Then went back to the directory to load the photos in a different program for comparison.
The photos were deleted from my hard drive!
They were loaded into Lightroom's cloud service, and without my knowledge or permission (and I was using the just-installed defaults) it had deleted those files I had touched with Lightroom and "helpfully" uploaded them.
Got it installed, loaded up a few photos. Then went back to the directory to load the photos in a different program for comparison.
The photos were deleted from my hard drive!
They were loaded into Lightroom's cloud service, and without my knowledge or permission (and I was using the just-installed defaults) it had deleted those files I had touched with Lightroom and "helpfully" uploaded them.
I uninstalled Lightroom within the hour.