I think that it is possible to restore the previous state but the question is, if it makes sense. When do you decide that it was a failure? Facebook explicitly (even so automatically) told all others that they shouldn't use that routes anymore.
When it comes to Facebooks side I guess they do have backups of their BGP config. Applying them (probably remotely) however seems to be harder then expected when the whole infrastructure is down.
When it comes to Facebooks side I guess they do have backups of their BGP config. Applying them (probably remotely) however seems to be harder then expected when the whole infrastructure is down.