> My teammates made this change to prevent surprises in a shared device scenario. In the past, people would sometimes sign out of the content area and think that meant they were no longer signed into Chrome, which could cause problems on a shared device
I can see why there is pushback against this, but the issue described above is also understandable. There are valid reasons why "average" users would rather have this, and having unsynced or completely mismatched logins between Chrome and Google sites can lead to confusion for many who don't really see or care about a difference between them.
However it would be best if Chrome kept the settings to disable this. It doesn't make sense to remove those flags when they also have a large technical user base. Seems like good intentions but misjudging the impact of the decision and forcing it on everyone without recourse.
> My teammates made this change to prevent surprises in a shared device scenario. In the past, people would sometimes sign out of the content area and think that meant they were no longer signed into Chrome, which could cause problems on a shared device
I can see why there is pushback against this, but the issue described above is also understandable. There are valid reasons why "average" users would rather have this, and having unsynced or completely mismatched logins between Chrome and Google sites can lead to confusion for many who don't really see or care about a difference between them.
However it would be best if Chrome kept the settings to disable this. It doesn't make sense to remove those flags when they also have a large technical user base. Seems like good intentions but misjudging the impact of the decision and forcing it on everyone without recourse.